United States Government: Congress

The legislative branch of the US government is also called the Congress. It comprises of the House of Representatives and the Senate. The main duty of the Congress is to write bills and debate over them in sessions and then decide to vote on the bills and pass them as laws. These bills are then passed on to the president for formal and final approval. It is also the responsibility of the congress to supervise the workings of the executive branch and the judiciary too.

Elections for the entire House of Representatives are held every two years. The Senate is however a body that is never completely new and therefore a third of the Senate is voted every two years. Since its inception, the Congress has been numbered.

A new Congress starts its session in January after the Congressional elections and meets once every year from January 3rd to July 31st. The sessions for the Congress can be extended in the case of an emergency. It is also not uncommon for the Congress to be called for a session due to special circumstances that need to be decided upon. The meeting of the Congress takes place in the respective chambers in the U.S. Capitol in Washington D. C. While each of the Congress bodies has their own sessions, there is always a special case when a joint session can be convened.


There are currently no articles available.


Other Topics of Interest

NOTE: Information on this site is not guaranteed to be accurate. Some content is compiled from 3rd party sources. If you are aware of incorrect or outdated information, feel free to contact us.