United States Government: Declaration of Independence

The Declaration of independence is a statement that was adopted by the Continental Congress on July 4, 1776. It was an announcement that the thirteen American colonies that were at war with the British Empire were independent states and therefore not a part of the British Empire. This is the day that the country celebrates as Independence Day since the states decided to announce themselves as independent from the British rule. 

The original draft of the document was created by Thomas Jefferson and edited by the Congress. Once the text was finalized it was issued in various forms. It was published as a broadside that was distributed among the public. There is a signed copy of this Declaration of independence in the National Archives in Washington DC

The text mentioned in the Declaration of independence explains the reasons why the states were declaring independence. It contained a list of grievances against King George III by various colonies. And along with the grievances there was also a list of natural and legal rights (including the right of revolution) that was mentioned. 

The second sentence that declares the importance of human rights has been applauded and held in high regard. This statement says “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness”.


There are currently no articles available.


Other Topics of Interest

NOTE: Information on this site is not guaranteed to be accurate. Some content is compiled from 3rd party sources. If you are aware of incorrect or outdated information, feel free to contact us.