United States Government: Constitution

The Constitution of the United States was adopted on September 17th, 1787 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The Constitution has been amended 2 times and the first ten amendments are known as the Bill of Rights. The Constitution of the United States is also considered to be the second oldest written constitution that is still in use in the world. The original hand written document that was penned by Jacob Shallus is displayed in the National Archives and Records Administration in the Capital.

The Constitution of the United States is considered to be the ultimate law of the country. It is the framework that decides the manner in which the US government is structured and the various powers that each individual and government bodies hold. 

The first three articles of the Constitution detail the three main branches of the government: mainly the legislative body, the executive body and the judiciary. It details the working, structure and powers of the bicameral Congress, the leader of the executive (the President) and the supreme power over the interpretation of the Constitution to the judiciary. These three articles also state that any of the powers that are not specified for the federal government can automatically be considered to be part of the state governments. 


There are currently no articles available.


Other Topics of Interest

NOTE: Information on this site is not guaranteed to be accurate. Some content is compiled from 3rd party sources. If you are aware of incorrect or outdated information, feel free to contact us.