United States Government: Federal Government

The US national government is a body that governs the fifty states of the United States of America. It has three distinct branches of that form the government - the legislative, the judiciary and the executive. The idea behind having various branches is to ensure that no one person has too much authority or power than can be misused. 

The legislative branch of the government comprises of the Congress that is made up of the House of Representatives and the Senate. A Congress that is formed of two different government bodies is called a bicameral legislative structure. 

The judiciary is the branch that is responsible for explaining the law and applying it for the public. The branch hears cases and eventually makes a decision with regards to the punishment of the guilty. The Supreme Court is the highest court of the federal court system

The head of the executive branch is the President of the county who is supposed to lead the country and head the military as well. The Vice President is the president of the Senate and is also expected to take over the role of the President if the President can no longer do the job for some reason. There are also various departments and independent agencies that help the executive branch to run the country.


There are currently no articles available.


Other Topics of Interest

NOTE: Information on this site is not guaranteed to be accurate. Some content is compiled from 3rd party sources. If you are aware of incorrect or outdated information, feel free to contact us.