United States Government: Legislative Branch

The legislative branch of the government is made up of the House of Representatives and the Senate. Together these are called the Congress. This form of government is called the bicameral form of government. While the House of Representatives includes members from various states depending on the population of the state, the Congress includes two members from each state. 

The powers granted to the Congress are detailed in Article I Section 8 of the Constitution. These include powers to levy taxes, provide punishment for counterfeiting, create post offices and roads, promote science and manage patents, combat piracy, declare war and make rules for the regulation of the armed forces. Based on various interpretations of the Constitution, there have been many debates that have arisen with respect to the specific powers of the Congress. These have been arbitrated and settled by the United States Supreme Court.

The House of Representatives and the Senate have powers that are exclusive. While the Senate approves presidential appointments of cabinet officers, federal judges, department secretaries, ambassadors to various countries and more, all the bills that are passed for the purpose of raising revenue for the country are the responsibility of the House of Representatives. The congress also has the power to remove the president, federal judges and federal officers from their position based on specific rules and conditions.


There are currently no articles available.


Other Topics of Interest

NOTE: Information on this site is not guaranteed to be accurate. Some content is compiled from 3rd party sources. If you are aware of incorrect or outdated information, feel free to contact us.