United States Government: US Code

The Code of Law of the United States is compilation of the federal laws that have been codified. Also called the United States Code, the US Code or the USC at times, this is a compilation of 50 titles. The code of law is published every 6 years by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel, a part of the House of Representatives

The 50 titles that the US code contains cover a large variety of areas that may need to be judged. These include general provisions, the congress, the president, the flag, seal and seat of government, domestic security, agriculture, aliens and nationality, arbitration, armed forces, banks and banking, bankruptcy, commerce and trade, copyrights, crimes and criminal procedures, food and drugs, hospitals and asylums, labor, national guard, money and finance, patents, postal services, public contracts, public lands, railroads, shipping, territories and war and national defense among others.

The codification of the United States law is an effort to make it easy to find relevant statutes with regards to a particular subject. Due to the fact that the code is structured on the basis of specific categories, it is sometimes the case where a specific law is part of more than one title. For example, a bill that relates to providing relief to family farms may be covered under agriculture, tax and public lands.


There are currently no articles available.


Other Topics of Interest

NOTE: Information on this site is not guaranteed to be accurate. Some content is compiled from 3rd party sources. If you are aware of incorrect or outdated information, feel free to contact us.